Recipes on the Go

The main factors I consider when purchasing food are:

  • light-ish
  • nutritionally dense
  • compact
  • no cooking required
  • high energy/calorie
  • high protein
  • higher fat (especially in cooler/cold weather)
  • few ingredients
  • convenient to grab & eat

To minimize weight, I do not typically bring a stove or fuel and only carry a spoon and cup. I store my water in a 32 oz nalgene bottle and a smaller reserve bottle. I use a hand-pump water filter for getting water. I eat my food cold but with a smile.

Gourmet Recipes

Trail Dogs:
slim jim + tortilla bread
Honestly, extremely tasty especially after a few days in the field… will taste almost like an actual hot dog.

PB&B[read]:
peanut butter (crunchy, preferably) + tortilla bread
This is a staple for life, in general (not just backpacking). Absolute powerhouse meal. Packed with protein, fats, and carbs to keep you moving.

Oatmeal:
rolled oats + water
It’s that simple. Both plain, old-fashioned oats or the fruit-flavored Quaker Oats packets (peaches & cream and apple cinnamon are my favorites) work.

Fish-in-a-Blanket:
tuna/salmon + tortilla bread
The tuna/salmon plastic packets work best from a waste/weight perspective; I avoid canned foods. Not so much of a fan of this one because water in packets add weight and low calorie values in fish.

Trail mix + jerky :
Eat separately, of course.

RxBar:
Blueberry version. Awesome as a day-starter/breakfast snack.

I may discuss how I pack food, how much to bring for five+ day rucks, what to drink, how much water/considerations…

Leave a comment